In this post you’ll find 4 ideas for teaching word stress using movement in class.

I’ve just read “A case of choral repetition” by T. Jones. You can download it here.

Though I don’t really practise choral repetition in my online classes, I thought I’d share the article and list some engaging techniques for teaching word stress.

Let’s see how we can teach the stress of the verb reCORD (stress on the second syllable).

1) Using rubber bands : the natural shape represents the first syllable. Stretch the band to represent the scond syllable.

2) Sitting on the first syllable and standing on the second syllable

3) Raising your eyebrows on the second syllable. My online students love this one!

4) Taking a small step on the first syllable and a big step on the second.

Further reading

You can also find some great ideas in this PronSIG blogpost, Using your hands to teach pronunciation by Ana Paula Biazon Rocha